Western Chuckwagon Association



      Grande Prairie Stompede, May 30-June 3, 2018, Wed-Sunday





Dean Dreger

Dean Dreger Copy


2017 Sponsors

 ruskin construction logo 

Ruskin Construction for Grande Prairie Stompede, and Manning Rodeo.

Platinum North Resources

Platinum North Resources for Rio Grande Rodeo, Rycroft Chuckwagon Races, Guitars & Wagons, Grimshaw North Peace Stampede and Dawson Creek Exhibition.


Northern Mat & Bridge for Teepee Creek Stampede



Dean was introduced to chuckwagon racing through his father in law, Kelly Sutherland in 1989 and after an intense learning curve, in 1999 Dean raced for the first time and brought home the Rookie of the Year Trophy Buckle. Since then Dean’s racing history has been exceptional. He has never finished outside of the top 10 since his debut. He has won numerous shows and took home to TP Creek Trophy Truck two years in a row.  In 2016 he was the  season champion and was presented with the 2016 GMC PRO TOUR Trophy Truck. He was also presented with the Trophy Buckle for Most Improved Driver in 2016 and was chosen by the memership to receive another Masters Award,  giving him the distinction of now being a 6 time WCA Masters Award winner

Dean is a safe, but tough competitor that brings excitement to the track. He is a true master. He has a real love of the sport and his horses. His horse care program is superior to none. He takes pride in wagon, his barn, his liner and it shows.

Dean is currently the WCA President, a title he has held for many years due to overwhelming member support. His level of commitment to this position has also been truly outstanding. He is the driving force behind the longevity and success of the WCA.

Dean and his family live just out of Grande Prairie, where he works in the oilfield industry. Chuckwagon racing is a big part of his
life both on and off racing season and like many, you can always find at least one of his 3 children on the circuit with him.

Want to find out more about Dean? Check out his Facebook page. LInk under photo.  


2016-Masters Award

2016-Most Improved Driver

2016 GMC Pro Tour Champion

2014 Danny Dreger Memorial  (Rycroft Aggregate Champion )

2013 WCA Masters Award

2012 WCA Masters Award

2012 Teepee Creek Show Champion

2011 Teepee Creek Show Champion

2011 WCA Masters Award

2010 WCA Masters Award

2009 WCA Masters Award

2006 WCA Masters Award


WCA Season Standings to Date


2016-1st Place Tour Champion

2015-5th Place

 2014-6th Place

2013-6th Place

2012-6th Place

2011-4th Place

2010-8th Place

2009-4th Place

2008-5th Place

2007----- N/A

2006-3rd Place

2005-4th Place

2004-2nd Place

2003-4th Place

2002-4th Place

2001-5th Place



Dean Dreger 2011 Masters Award Buckle


 Masters Award Trophy Buckle